Business Description:

Our pet counselors are dedicated to matching the right pet with the right customer and meeting the needs of both.


Pet Services
Request an appointment

Linda's Review


Total Experience

Will Recommend

Joliet, IL


Sick dog and hidden cost

I have a very sick dog. When I bought her they said she saw the vet that morning. The vet that Petland recommended said she had severe bronchitis which could turn into pneumonia. I told the vet she had blood in her stood and since I explained to them that we would not be coming here it's too far away we have had our own vet for 20 years, they told me just take her to our vet,. They gave me medication but any more problems take her to our vet, it's not covered by Petland. When I bought her they wouldn't tell me price tell we were done. They gave me a bunch of stuff I didn't need that they said came with her ( a hampster water bottle) ready? I bought a dog there 3 years ago and it was $1000. This one was over $3000. No wonder people are against pet stores. My husband is a Dr and trust me we will tell everyone about the scam and unhealthy puppies.


I am very sorry to hear of your puppies sickness. We have been in the same location for over 25 years and generally enjoy a 5 star rating. Obviously, we did not meet your expectation. I did check and the veterinarian was in the store that morning as you were told. Unfortunately, we do not have xray machines in the store to spot this type of illness. This is why we offer you the free veterinarian visit and we cover ALL medical expenses related to one of our puppies, 30 days for viral and 18 months for congenital/hereditary if you use one of our 11 veterinarian clinics. I did check and I see that the closest clinic to you is just over 30 minutes away. While this is not as convenient, the medical care is free if you choose to take advantage of it. We do provide a take home kit with every puppy to be certain the puppy has all necessary items. We provide a water bottle, designed for a dog kennel, so that the puppy can have water while it is in it's kennel. A water dish left in the kennel could tip over and this would not be good. Most people rave about our homecoming kit. If however you are unsatisfied, please contact our customer service department, Solutions, and we will refund the money for the unused merchandise. We thank you for your repeat business and we are sorry you were not satisfied.

Petland commented on 10/02/2017