Business Description:

As a family-owned and -operated business since 1994, Carl's Van Rentals has been providing affordable van rentals to residents & vacationers throughout Florida.

Categories

Vehicle Rentals, automotive
Request an appointment

Garry's Review

Service

Total Experience

Will Recommend

New Port Richey, FL

Carl's Van Rentals

TOTAL FRAUD & VEHICLES IN DISREPAIR

For a Family Trip, we rented Van from Carl's Van Rental for a week to go to North Carolina. To our surprise we were given vehicle that nobody will even rent for local use. We picked up the van after hours at 5 PM with dash-board showing Brake Pads are worn and need attention. We had no alternative other than drive the van to our trip early next morning. Information sent to Frank, the manager. We did not drive the vehicle to many places where we could have gone.
When we come back, CARL'S VAN RENTAL charges us 8 days instead of 7 - TOTAL FRAUD. The company sent online agreement on day of pick up to sign electronically that wrote pick up at 5 PM while return at 10 PM that we never said. The company refused to refund the extra day that was charged.
When the Owner Mr. Carl was approached, he sided with his manager rather than checking if client is right.
BE AWARE OF CARL'S RENTAL, THEY ARE FRAUD AND THEIR VEHICLES ARE IN DISREPAIR. They have no business ethics.

comments

Thank you for the review. To clarify some things: We never rent out a van that we would not put our family in first and drive across the country. We never want any customer to have vehicle issue's while enjoying a vacation. The reminder light on the dash was just that, a reminder. Vehicles have this feature to remind things like an oil change is needed, turn signals are out, service intervals are due, etc. Nothing about this light was brought to our managers attention (Frank) until after the rental was complete. It was not showing when the van went out. To be sure there were no issues, we did take the van to the dealer to have it inspected and everything was fine and the light turned off. As far as charging an extra day. This reservation was made online by someone in the party. We never changed pick up and drop off times, they were entered in when the trip was booked on our website. Then, the contract was sent to be signed on 11/18/20 at 1pm. The rental began on 11/20/20 at 5pm. The contract was signed and initialed on the contract right next to the pick up and drop off time's as well as signed agreeing to the terms and the charges. If there had been an issue with pick up and drop times or anything else, there was more than 48 hours to call in and get them corrected before the rental began. The vehicle rented was driven over 2,500 miles with no issues at all. When we honor all our obligations per signed contract and a vehicle is used with no issues, we feel we do not need to refund money.

Carl's Van Rentals commented on 01/14/2021